Digest Spectrum – A product that has helped me.

Digest Spectrum by Enzymedica

I saw on a few Fructose Malabsorption boards that some people were having good results with this product.  I decided to give it a try.   (Please note, I was not given this product to try, I bought it myself.  I received NO compensation for this review.  All opinions are mine.)

Admittedly, I didn’t have the highest hopes that this would help me be able to eat more foods with fructose.  However, I was having a lot of trouble.  I would eat only from the Allowed Foods List, and was still having gastrointestinal distress.   I was having a hard time balancing the amounts that were alright for me.  (If I ate a 1/2 cup of an allowed vegetable at one meal, could I have an allowed fruit as a snack a couple of hours later?…sometimes yes, sometimes no.)  So eating was causing a lot of trouble.  Not to mention trying to eat out!  So I decided to give Digest Spectrum a try.

I knew every time I ate spaghetti I had issues.  (even though I only used allowed ingredients, and always add dextrose to help with the digestion.)  So the first test was taking a capsule before spaghetti.  To my amazement my stomach didn’t blow, I had no pain, and the next day things moved normally.  But I didn’t trust this first test.  I thought perhaps we put more dextrose in it this time.  So….next text.

I had a meal with 3 servings of allowed vegetables.  I took a Digest Spectrum right before I started, and to my amazement, again No bloating, No pain…and normal bowel movements for the next few days.  This gave me more hope that the enzymes were working.

I continued to use the product whenever I thought I might be eating foods with too much fructose.  But I NEVER intentionally ate anything on the Prohibited list…..but I really wanted some legumes.  I really missed beans!

I decided to make some hummus.  I didn’t use garlic, I used infused garlic olive oil, tahini, and lemon juice.  I took two Digest Spectrum (I thought I might really be pushing it this time).  I ate about 1/8 cup of hummus with vegetables.   NO symptoms.    Next test….I had pinto beans, a lot of pinto beans.  My meal consisted of a Pinto Bean mixture (much like refried beans, with corn tortillas, lettuce and cheese.  (remember, I’m not lactose intolerance, but many can eat hard cheeses even if you are.)  I ate 3 of these tortillas.  With a side of Black Beans!   Once again….NO symptoms.

I’m so excited I can eat beans again.  I don’t eat them every day, I always leave at least a couple of days between, but I missed beans more than any thing else.   (other than onions!)

There are certain foods I will not eat, even with this help.  Onions, Apples….ect.   I really try to stay away from the prohibited list that has foods really high in fructose and frutans.  (I know beans are on the no – no list, but all the books said that everyone has trouble digesting beans.  Well that’s why they have Been-o right?  And I’ve been eating them for years without adverse affects, other than a little excess gas, but I often have that anyway.  I felt beans were a calculated risk that I was willing to try.)

Then came a day we decided to eat out.  Mexican.  I took 2 Digest Spectrum, just in case.  I’m so glad I did!  I normally get cheese or bean enchiladas.  However, I’m trying to lose some weight, so I decided to order chicken enchiladas.   Still gluten free, and healthier….right???   I took 2 bites, and realized I tasted onion!!!   Oh NO!  Onion!!  I didn’t even think about that, I asked about the sauce to make sure it had no onions, or flour, but didn’t think about the chicken filling.  (I’ve never ordered it before, I thought it would just be shreaded chicken).   I just knew I was going to be in a lot of pain.  I decided to take aanother capsule right then, hoping it might help.   Normally, if I get just a tad of onion, onion flavoring, onion powder, anything….I bloat almost immediately to the point that it looks like I’m pregnant…very pregnant.  And it hurts, oh does it hurt.   Then for 3 days I’m in the bathroom, many, many times.

I waited….No pain.  No bloating.  I was shocked.  I’m sure if I’d had more I would have gotten ill, but I didn’t get sick!!  The only thing I can attribute this to, is the Digest Specturm.

Now I eat out with more confidence.  I’m still very careful (more careful after the onion incident) but I always take a capsule, just in case someone in the kitchen goofs, or I eat too many veggetables (I have a hard time not eating more vegetables.)

How does Digest Spectrum work?

Ensymedica states on their website that

“Our body uses enzymes to enhance digestion and turn the food we eat into energy. Produced throughout the digestive tract and available from raw foods and supplements, these enzymes include: amylase for carbohydrates, lipase for fats, protease for proteins, and cellulase for fiber. Like tiny shears, enzymes help break down the foods we eat leaving particles small enough to provide nutrition to the cells after they enter the bloodstream. In addition to aiding digestion, some enzymes provide additional support to the body by eliminating harmful toxins and by-products.”

They do say this is to be used in combination with special diets.

“Reducing or eliminating the foods which trigger digestive problems is a key part of managing food sensitivities.  While special diets are helpful to those with impaired digestion, dietary modification used in combination with enzyme supplementation provides peace of mind and complete spectrum digestive support.”

 

Do I take Digest Spectrum every time I eat?  NO.  Do I really go against the low FODMAPS diet and rely on this product?  NO.  (except for beans….but I’m thinking I can tolerate them more than others.)

So when do I take Digest Spectrum?   I always take it when I eat out….just in case.  It’s too easy for food to get cross contamination in the kitchen and I’d never know it just by looking!

I always take it when I eat tomato products.  (This is an allowed food, but I have trouble with it, however, I love it.  Since I don’t have a huge problem with it, I decided to start taking Digest Spectrum before eating it, and now I don’t have any trouble at all.)   I always take it if I’m having a meal with more than 1 cup of veggetables….any kind. (I was having a hard time wiht this before.)   I always take it before a get together…and place I’ll be eating food that I (or my husband) didn’t prepare.   I also take it just when I’m feeling a bit nervous.  I feel I don’t digest foods as well if I’m stressed out.

I know this probably won’t work as well for everyone.  I’ve read one person’s account and she uses it a lot so she can eat much more of the foods that she wants.  I think most people use it like I do….as a precaution under certain circumstances.

If you try it, please let me know how it works for you….and under what circumstances you used it.

 

6 comments on “Digest Spectrum – A product that has helped me.

  1. Thank you for your review of this product. I found your blog while Googling Digest Gold after one of my blog readers recommended it. I just ordered Digest Spectrum and Digest Gold from Amazon, I’m hoping it will help me too! :)

  2. Many thanks for the “heads up” in regards to what sounds like a wonderful product. I live in Australia so just bought 2 bottles online from iherb.com. Fingers crossed it can help me too. Thanks for taking the time to create such a great blog. Cheers and regards, Rebecca

    • I hope it works. I normally only use it when I’m eating out and not sure if cross contamination may have happened. It has helped, but I have gotten too much bad stuff in a meal before and it helped but I still had troubles. So it’s not a cure all!
      Good luck
      w

  3. Pingback: Traveling with Food Issues… | Wendy Cooks

    • I hope it works for you. I started using it after I had most things under control, and only use it when I eat out and might get cross contamination. I haven’t used it to see if I could eat what ever I wanted. I have noticed when I take it the next day I have a bit of constipation, I hope that doesn’t happen to you. Good luck!!

Tell me what you think. I love comments.

