I’m Fructose Intolerant

image from the fructose malabsorption yahoo group

I just got the results of my Breath Tests and I have Fructose Intolerance other wise known as Fructose Malabsorption.  So no more fruit, sweet potatoes, bread, juices, crackers, sugar, honey, many vegetables….  I have to go to a nutritionist to get some help on this one.

I’ve been feeling pretty rough today and I had honey, and a little sugar yesterday.  Think that might be the reason??

I’ll have to adjust my menu for this week a little.  No sweet potato fries, no chili (I can’t have tomatoes.)…

I’ll keep you updated.

6 comments on “I’m Fructose Intolerant

  1. Thanks for the sweet comment on my blog, I’m following yours now and have added it to my blog roll on my page. We will make it through this allergy season!

  2. Hi if you have eaten honey that’s definitely the problem it’s pure Fructose. I use maple syrup or golden syrup. I have had Fructose Malabsorption for over a year as well as Colitis. Sometimes it stinks but you do get used to it, and there are sooooooo many things you can still have :) also I have been to a dietician and can still have some tomato (but not tomato paste) and sweet potatoes are fine as well.

    I hope that info helps :)

  3. I’ve been studying this issue recently. It’s an emerging area of knowledge, and often resources are confusing or even contradictory. One thing is clear: fructose intolerance and fructose malabsorption are two different things. With fructose intolerance, all fructose must be avoided, like one with a gluten intolerance would avoid gluten. With fructose malabsorption, small amounts of fructose are usually tolerated, particularly if balanced with glucose which assists with fructose absorption. If your health care practitioner is qualified in the area, then he/she will distinguish between these two very different conditions. Good luck!

    • You are right that these are two very different things. Hereditary Fructose Intolerance, and Fructose Malabsorption. However, in the US Fructose Malabsorption is often called Dietary Fructose Intolerance. Often when you are diagnosed as an adult they don’t even test to see if you have HFI, they assume that you would have had horrible reactions, and died if you have had it for so long.
      I am assuming that I have FM, however, we aren’t sure. I have an enlarged, fatty liver. I’ve had very high triglycerides for years. I’m hypoglycemic. All of these are symptoms of HFI. (I have some others too.) I’ve never eaten a lot of fruit, when I have I would get sick…so I didn’t. It seems that many of the vegetables I naturally ate were much lower in fructose. My main culprits have been onions, and occasionally apples. I would get sick, but assumed I accidentally ate gluten.
      I was always a sickly child. Who knows.
      I’m working on finding things I can eat. Some things that are on the OK list for FM, I can’t tolerate. I’m taking baby steps. One day at a time.

Tell me what you think. I love comments.

