Tilapia with Almond Flour Coating

I will admit, I don’t cook fish often.  I know we should eat it more often, but I just don’t like to touch raw fish.  Also my husband only likes fish when it’s fried, so we don’t have it very often.   I’m trying to get over my aversion and cook it more often.  I thought I’d slowly introduce my hubby to different ways of cooking, so this time I lightly fried the tilapia after coating it will some onion-garlic herb seasoning, and some almond flour.  Next time I plan to bake this.

Tilapia with Almond Flour Coating served with Roasted Squash

Tilapia with Almond Flour Coating

Rinse fish.

Dredge in Egg (this part is optional, it will help the coating stick, but I didn’t use it last night and just had a light coating and it was very good).

Liberally sprinkle the Onion/Garlic Herb seasoning on the fish.

Place fish in Almond flour and coat both sides.

Heat Olive Oil over Medium High heat, when oil is hot fry the fish.

Cook on one side until about 1/2 cooked, then turn and cook through.  If you can see the side of one of the fillets you can see it turning white on from the bottom up, when it’s white about half way up turn over and cook until the entire fillet is white and the coating is browned.  Timing will vary depending on how thick your fillets are.  One of mine was pretty thin and one was thicker.  I started the thicker one a little before the thin one so they would be cooked at the same time.

I served this with Roasted Zucchini and Yellow Squash.

  • 1 each a Zucchini and Yellow Squash about the same size
  • Onion/Garlic Herb Seasoning
  • Olive Oil Spray

This is very easy to cook, I made it in my toaster oven.

Coat the squash with olive oil (I used spray olive oil – I have a pump sprayer from Pampered Chef, you just add your oil, pump and spray.  No more buying canned oil spray.)

Sprinkle both sides of the squash and zucchini with Onion/Garlic Herb seasoning.

Place on a cooking sheet (I used parchment paper to ease clean-up)

Broil until as tender as you want.  (originally, I tried to brown them a little, but the squash gets to soft before that happens.)

Tell me what you think. I love comments.

